Teacher working with student

Our Staff

About our staff

Our staff are our school’s most valuable resource. It is the quality of our staff and the high expectations that we place upon ourselves that are the most important strengths in ensuring high quality teaching and learning takes place.

At Waimea College we have dedicated, well-qualified and trained staff who operate as a team and have:

  • a genuine sense of caring and empathy for young people
  • high expectations of ourselves and our students
  • the skills to enable students to achieve to the best of their abilities
  • a passion for their curriculum area
  • the ability to foster a love of learning in our students
  • a strong sense of community
  • diverse skills, knowledge, and life-experiences
  • a commitment to developing a strong set of values in our students
Student working collaboratively in classroom

Fraser Hill

Principal
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Natasha Hitchman

Associate Principal natasha.hitchman@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Fenemor

Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Business Studies yvonne.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Brian Hore

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Science brian.hore@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crump

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Science fiona.crump@waimea.school.nz

Gus Shirley

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Health & Physical Education gus.shirley@waimea.school.nz

Diane Chapman

Resource Manager diane.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Cruise

Executive Assistant nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Kate Mulvihill

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Performing Arts
kate.mulvihill@waimea.school.nz

Andy McHaffie

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of English & Media Studies
andy.mchaffie@waimea.school.nz

Jenny Kneale

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of English
jenny.kneale@waimea.school.nz

Peter Versey

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
peter.versey@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Henaghan

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of English, ESOL
rebecca.henaghan@waimea.school.nz

Llywelyn Adlam

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Science
llywelyn.adlam@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Thomas

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of Science
andrea.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Tim Close

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of English, PB4L Strive Coordinator
tim.close@waimea.school.nz

Caroline Inwood

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of English
caroline.inwood@waimea.school.nz

Ian McLeod

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
ian.mcleod@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Roper

International Dean
hayley.roper@waimea.school.nz

Llywelyn Adlam

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Science
llywelyn.adlam@waimea.school.nz

Katie Alder

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
katie.alder@waimea.school.nz

Karma Argyle

Teaching Assistant
karma.argyle@waimea.school.nz

Tina Aynsley

Library Assistant
tina.aynsley@waimea.school.nz

Cath Barker

Teaching Assistant/Youth Worker OnTrack
cath.barker@waimea.school.nz

Pam Bayard

Teaching Assistant
pam.bayard@waimea.school.nz

Amy-Rose Berthelsen

Special Education Teaching Assistant
amyrose.berthelsen@waimea.school.nz

Jess Binion-Cooper

Teacher of English
jess.binioncooper@waimea.school.nz

Jane Binskin

Teaching Assistant
jane.binskin@waimea.school.nz

Matt Black

Special Education Teaching Assistant
matt.black@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Bolderson

Student Administrator
lisa.bolderson@waimea.school.nz

Siobhian Bolt

Teacher of English
siobhian.bolt@waimea.school.nz

Joanna Booth

Teaching Assistant
joanna.booth@waimea.school.nz

Vanessa Bradley

Receptionist
vanessa.bradley@waimea.school.nz

Janice Bridge

HOD OnTrack
janice.bridge@waimea.school.nz

Mike Brien

Teacher of Materials Technology
mike.brien@waimea.school.nz

Melanie Brown

HOD Food & Technology
melanie.brown@waimea.school.nz

Alison Browning

Specific Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO) / HoD Kura Hub
alison.browning@waimea.school.nz

Ingrid Buedenbender

ESOL Teaching Assistant
ingrid.buedenbender@waimea.school.nz

Damian Campbell

Teacher of Mathematics
damian.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Diane Chapman

Resource Manager
diane.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Jeremy Campbell

Teacher of Outdoor Education
jeremy.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Paula Campbell

Teacher of Social Sciences, Ako
paula.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Naomi Chapman

Librarian Manager & Teacher of Business Studies
naomi.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Nathan Chippendale

HOD Physical Education
nathan.chippendale@waimea.school.nz

Tim Close

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of English,
PB4L Strive Coordinator
tim.close@waimea.school.nz

Jenna Collett

Office Administrator
jenna.collett@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Collins

Special Education Teaching Assistant
hayley.collins@waimea.school.nz

Kylie Connell

Careers & Gateway / Trades Coordinator
kylie.connell@waimea.school.nz

Jill Cooper

HOD English
jill.cooper@waimea.school.nz

Steve Copley

ICT Director / Digital Learning Coordinator & Teacher of Digital Technology
steve.copley@waimea.school.nz

Toni Crichton

Special Education Teaching Assistant
toni.crichton@waimea.school.nz

Leanne Cross

Teacher of Business Studies
leanne.cross@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crowley

Teacher of English, Classical Studies fiona.crowley@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Cruise

Executive Assistant
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz
 

Fiona Crump

Associate Deputy Principal, Teacher of Science fiona.crump@waimea.school.nz

Trent Dallimore

Teacher of Mathematics 
trent.dallimore@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Daly

HOD Business Studies
yvonne.daly@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Drummond

Special Education Teaching Assistant
lisa.drummond@waimea.school.nz

Sue Drummond

Teacher of Special Education
sue.drummond@waimea.school.nz

Trevor Du Feu

Audio Visual Technician trevor.dufeu@waimea.school.nz

Isaiah Duncanson

Teacher of Science isaiah.duncanson@waimea.school.nz

Jeanette Dungan

Special Assessment Conditions (SAC) Coordinator
jeanette.dungan@waimea.school.nz

Richard Dunn

Teacher of Science / BOT Staff Trustee
richard.dunn@waimea.school.nz

Natasha Eggers

Finance Assistant
natasha.eggers@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Fenemor

Deputy Principal, Teacher of Business Studies
yvonne.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Wendy Ford

Teacher of Enrichment
wendy.ford@waimea.school.nz

Jodie Freeman

Teacher of Music
jodie.freeman@waimea.school.nz

Catherine Fuller

HOD Languages
catherine.fuller@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Gibbs

Performing Arts Coordinator
tracy.gibbs@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Gibellini

Guidance Counsellor
nicola.gibellini@waimea.school.nz

Wendy Giles

Special Education Teaching Assistant
wendy.giles@waimea.school.nz

Andrew Gillespie

HOD Materials Technology
andrew.gillespie@waimea.school.nz

Annie Goff

Guidance Administrator
annie.goff@waimea.school.nz

Jo Goodwin

Teacher of Visual Art
jo.goodwin@waimea.school.nz

Simon Goodwin

Guidance Counsellor
simon.goodwin@waimea.school.nz

Charlotte Gordon

Teacher of Outdoor Education
charlotte.gordon@waimea.school.nz

Damian Granich

Teacher of Special Education damian.granich@waimea.school.nz

Sunshine Hall

Teacher of Materials Technology
sunshine.hall@waimea.school.nz

Esther Hancock

Teacher in Charge Agriculture/Horticulture
esther.hancock@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Hardaker

Teacher of Social Sciences & TIC Psychology
nicola.hardaker@waimea.school.nz

Pep Hart

Staffroom Administrator

Sarah Haydon

Kura Hub Teaching Assistant
sarah.haydon@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Henaghan

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Engish, ESOL
rebecca.henaghan@waimea.school.nz

Catherine Henry-Steel

Special Education Teaching Assistant
catherine.henry-Steel@waimea.school.nz

Fraser Hill

Principal
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Susan Hill

Kura Hub Teacher
susan.hill@waimea.school.nz

Natasha Hitchman

Associate Principal
natasha.hitchman@waimea.school.nz

Gordon Holas-Clark

Teacher of Mathematics
gordon.holas-clark@waimea.school.nz

Heather Holmes

Teaching Assistant heather.holmes@waimea.school.nz

Brian Hore

Associate Deputy Principal
brian.hore@waimea.school.nz

Tara Hope

Sports Administrator
tara.hope@waimea.school.nz

Maxine Hylkema

Special Education Teaching Assistant
maxine.hylkema@waimea.school.nz

Jaunita Ingham

Special Education Teaching Assistant
jaunita.ingham@waimea.school.nz

Caroline Inwood

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of English
caroline.inwood@waimea.school.nz

Jo Johnston

Adult & Community (ACE) Manager
jo.johnston@waimea.school.nz

Delyth Jones

Librarian
delyth.jones@waimea.school.nz

Kat Jones

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
kat.jones@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Kennedy

HOD Special Education
sarah.kennedy@waimea.school.nz

Jayne Keys

Guidance Counsellor
jayne.keys@waimea.school.nz

Richard Keys

HOD Mathematics
richard.keys@waimea.school.nz

Rachel King

Teacher of Mathematics
rachel.king@waimea.school.nz

Jenny Kneale

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of English
jenny.kneale@waimea.school.nz

Jo Millar

Teacher of English
jo.millar@waimea.school.nz

Stephen Loft

Teacher of Mathematics
stephen.loft@waimea.school.nz

Peter Low

Groundsman

Katrina Madill

HOD Transition & Careers
katrina.madill@waimea.school.nz

Peter Malthus

Teacher of Social Sciences
peter.malthus@waimea.school.nz

Dion Mant

Teacher of Social Sciences dion.mant@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Mather

Teacher of Mathematics
sarah.mather@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Maxwell

Librarian
sarah.maxwell@waimea.school.nz

Jamie McAuley

Teacher of Materials Technology, 
GATE Coordinator
jamie.mcauley@waimea.school.nz

Dale McDonald

Teacher of Mathematics dale.mcdonald@waimea.school.nz

Hillary McDonald

HOD Outdoor Education hillary.mcdonald@waimea.school.nz

Drew McGlashen

HOD Science
drew.mcglashen@waimea.school.nz

Andy McHaffie

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of English & Media Studies
andy.mchaffie@waimea.school.nz

Janelle Macgregor

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
janelle.macgregor@waimea.school.nz

Stewart McKean

Teacher of Special Education
stewart.mckean@waimea.school.nz

Ian McLeod

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education, Academic Coordinator
ian.mcleod@waimea.school.nz

Stephanie Milner

Teacher of English
stephanie.milner@waimea.school.nz

Donnella Milton

Transition Coordinator
transition@waimea.school.nz

Scott Morrison

Teacher of Mathematics
scott.morrison@waimea.school.nz

Hamish Morton

Teacher of Science
hamish.morton@waimea.school.nz

Kate Mulvihill

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Performing Arts
kate.mulvihill@waimea.school.nz

Tim Murphy

Teaching Assistant
tim.murphy@waimea.school.nz

Nathan Neumann

Teacher of Social Sciences
nathan.neumann@waimea.school.nz

Michael O’Malley

Teacher of Drama
Michael.O’Malley@waimea.school.nz

Jane Orbell

Teacher of Social Sciences jane.orbell@waimea.school.nz

Maree O’Rourke

Uniform Shop Manager
maree.orourke@waimea.school.nz

Shaun Oughton

HOD Visual Art
shaun.oughton@waimea.school.nz

Kerry Parkes

Teacher of Materials Technology
kerry.parkes@waimea.school.nz

Gavin Parkinson

Materials Technology Workshop Technician
gavin.parkinson@waimea.school.nz

Kereama (Graham) Payn

Teaching Assistant/Youth Worker OnTrack
graham.payn@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Phillips

Teacher of Business Studies & Mathematics,
Rotoiti Lodge Liaison Teacher
andrea.phillips@waimea.school.nz

Sue Phipps

Office Manager
sue.phipps@waimea.school.nz

Adam Piggon

Teacher of Social Sciences
adam.piggon@waimea.school.nz

Judy Powley

Teacher of English
judy.powley@waimea.school.nz

Richard Powley

Caretaker
richard.powley@waimea.school.nz

Tori Puklowski

International Homestay Coordinator
intl.homestay@waimea.school.nz

Lynda Rea

Attendance Officer
lynda.rea@waimea.school.nz

Colin Redpath

HOD Social Sciences
colin.redpath@waimea.school.nz

Leanda Richards

Teaching Assistant
leanda.richards@waimea.school.nz

Warren Richards

Teacher of Visual Art
warren.richards@waimea.school.nz

Darren Richardson

Teacher of Materials Technology
darren.richardson@waimea.school.nz

Amy Roach

Teacher of English
amy.roach@waimea.school.nz

Bevan Rogers

Teacher of Science
bevan.rogers@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Roper

International Manager
hayley.roper@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Rouse-Groome

Teacher of Special Education
rebecca.rouse-groome@waimea.school.nz

Karla Russ

Teacher of Science & Mathematics
karla.russ@waimea.school.nz

Roberta Schneider

ESOL Teaching Assistant
roberta.schneider@waimea.school.nz

Nicholas Sharpe

HOD Performing Arts, Teacher in Charge of Music
nicholas.sharpe@waimea.school.nz

Gus Shirley

Associate Deputy Principal , Teacher of Health & Physical Education
gus.shirley@waimea.school.nz

Matt Simpson

Materials Technology Workshop Technician
matt.simpson@waimea.school.nz

Erin Smaill

Teacher of Science
erin.smaill@waimea.school.nz

Brett Smith

Teacher of Music
brett.smith@waimea.school.nz

Emily Smith

Teacher of Social Sciences
emily.smith@waimea.school.nz

Gerda Smith

Teacher of Social Sciences & English
gerda.smith@waimea.school.nz

Susan Standish

Science Technician
susan.standish@waimea.school.nz

Rae Strasser

Teacher of Social Sciences
rae.strasser@waimea.school.nz

Morgan Stuart

Teacher of Te Rēo & Science
morgan.stuart@waimea.school.nz

Marcus Swain

HOD Health Education
marcus.swain@waimea.school.nz

James Tait

Teacher of Food Technologyg, Social Sciences
james.tait@waimea.school.nz

Will Taylor

Teacher of Materials Technology
will.taylor@waimea.school.nz

Hannah Taylor-Wardle

Teacher of English
hannah.taylorwardle@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Thomas

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of Science
andrea.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Mandy Thomas

Attendance Officer / Finance Assistant
mandy.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Wendy Thomas

Special Education Teaching Assistant
wendy.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Karla Thurlow

Head of Sports & Recreation
karla.thurlow@waimea.school.nz

Nola Timpson

Special Education Teaching Assistant
nola.timpson@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Tjostheim

Teacher of Mathematics
tracy.tjostheim@waimea.school.nz

Rob Tregurtha

Teacher of Languages
rob.tregurtha@waimea.school.nz

Barbara Tuhou

Finance Assistant
barbara.tuhou@waimea.school.nz

Maria Van Den Berg

Teacher of Science
maria.vandenberg@waimea.school.nz

Katie van der Velden

Teacher of Science
katie.vandervelden@waimea.school.nz

Michelle van Zoelen

Special Education Teaching Assistant
michelle.vanzoelen@waimea.school.nz

Peter Versey

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
peter.versey@waimea.school.nz

Stacey Walden

Teacher of Mathematics & Science
stacey.walden@waimea.school.nz

Christine Walker

Teacher of Business Studies, Food Technology
christine.walker@waimea.school.nz

Lauren Walton

Teacher of English & ESOL
lauren.walton@waimea.school.nz

Seane Watkins

Teacher of Visual Art
seane.watkins@waimea.school.nz

Jessie Watts

Teacher of Mathematics
jessie.watts@waimea.school.nz

Hamish Wheeler

Teacher of Health & Physical Education, 
Specialist Classroom Teacher
hamish.wheeler@waimea.school.nz

Julianne Wheeler

Assistant International Manager
international.admin@waimea.school.nz

Angela Whitlam

Teacher of Science, Principal’s Nominee
angela.whitlam@waimea.school.nz

Jan Wilson

Teacher of Mathematics
jan.wilson@waimea.school.nz

Susan Win

Teacher of Food Technology, Social Sciences
susan.win@waimea.school.nz

Tim Wright

Teacher of Social Sciences, Boys Achievement Coordinator
tim.wright@waimea.school.nz