Teacher working with student

Our Staff

About our staff

Our staff are our school’s most valuable resource. It is the quality of our staff and the high expectations that we place upon ourselves that are the most important strengths in ensuring high quality teaching and learning takes place.

At Waimea College we have dedicated, well-qualified and trained staff who operate as a team and have:

  • a genuine sense of caring and empathy for young people
  • high expectations of ourselves and our students
  • the skills to enable students to achieve to the best of their abilities
  • a passion for their curriculum area
  • the ability to foster a love of learning in our students
  • a strong sense of community
  • diverse skills, knowledge, and life-experiences
  • a commitment to developing a strong set of values in our students
Student working collaboratively in classroom

Scott Haines

Principal
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Graeme Smith

Associate Principal graeme.smith@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Fenemor

Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Business Studies yvonne.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Brian Hore

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Science brian.hore@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crump

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Science fiona.crump@waimea.school.nz

Gus Shirley

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Health & Physical Education gus.shirley@waimea.school.nz

Diane Chapman

Resource Manager diane.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Cruise

Executive Assistant nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Jenny Kneale

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of English jenny.kneale@waimea.school.nz

Peter Versey

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
peter.versey@waimea.school.nz

Kat Jones

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education kat.jones@waimea.school.nz

Matthew van Oudenaaren

Year 12 Dean, Academic Coordinator, Teacher of Mathematics matthew.vanoudenaaren@waimea.school.nz

Caroline Inwood

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of English caroline.inwood@waimea.school.nz

Ian McLeod

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education, Rotoiti Coordinator ian.mcleod@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Thomas

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Science andrea.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Tim Close

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of English, PB4L Strive Coordinator tim.close@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Henaghan

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of English, ESOL
rebecca.henaghan@waimea.school.nz

LLywelyn Adlam

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Science
llywelyn.adlam@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Roper

International Manager
hayley.roper@waimea.school.nz

Llywelyn Adlam

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Science
llywelyn.adlam@waimea.school.nz

Katie Alder

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
katie.alder@waimea.school.nz

Karma Argyle

Teaching Assistant
karma.argyle@waimea.school.nz

Tina Aynsley

Library Assistant
tina.aynsley@waimea.school.nz

Cath Barker

Teaching Assistant/Youth Worker OnTrack
cath.barker@waimea.school.nz

Pam Bayard

Teaching Assistant
pam.bayard@waimea.school.nz

Anton Bentley

Assistant HOD Performing Arts & Teacher of Drama
anton.bentley@waimea.school.nz

Jane Binskin

Teaching Assistant
jane.binskin@waimea.school.nz

Matt Black

Special Education Teaching Assistant
matt.black@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Bolderson

Student Administrator
lisa.bolderson@waimea.school.nz

Siobhian Bolt

Teacher of English
siobhian.bolt@waimea.school.nz

Joanna Booth

Teaching Assistant
joanna.booth@waimea.school.nz

Will Bosnich

Teacher of Materials Technology
will.bosnich@waimea.school.nz

Janice Bridge

HOD OnTrack
janice.bridge@waimea.school.nz

Mike Brien

Teacher of Materials Technology
mike.brien@waimea.school.nz

Alison Browning

Specific Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO)
alison.browning@waimea.school.nz

Damian Campbell

Teacher of Mathematics
damian.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Jeremy Campbell

Acting HOD Outdoor Education
jeremy.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Paula Campbell

Teacher of Social Sciences, Ako
paula.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Kent Champion

Network Administrator
kent.champion@waimea.school.nz

Diane Chapman

Resource Manager
diane.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Erin Chapman

Teacher of Outdoor Education & Physical Education
erin.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Naomi Chapman

Librarian Manager & Teacher of Business Studies
naomi.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Nathan Chippendale

HOD Physical Education
nathan.chippendale@waimea.school.nz

Tim Close

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of English, PB4L Strive Coordinator
tim.close@waimea.school.nz

Jenna Collett

Receptionist
jenna.collett@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Collins

Special Education Teaching Assistant
hayley.collins@waimea.school.nz

Kylie Connell

Careers & Gateway / Trades Coordinator
kylie.connell@waimea.school.nz

Jill Cooper

HOD English
jill.cooper@waimea.school.nz

Steve Copley

ICT Director / Digital Learning Coordinator & Teacher of Digital Technology
steve.copley@waimea.school.nz

Toni Crichton

Special Education Teaching Assistant
toni.crichton@waimea.school.nz

Leanne Cross

Teacher of Business Studies
leanne.cross@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crowley

Teacher of English, Classical Studies fiona.crowley@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Cruise

Executive Assistant
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz
 

Fiona Crump

Associate Deputy Principal, Teacher of Science fiona.crump@waimea.school.nz

Trent Dallimore

Teacher of Mathematics and in Learning Centre
trent.dallimore@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Daly

HOD Business Studies
yvonne.daly@waimea.school.nz

Sophie Dixon

Science Technician
sophie.dixon@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Drummond

Special Education Teaching Assistant
lisa.drummond@waimea.school.nz

Sue Drummond

Teacher of Special Education
sue.drummond@waimea.school.nz

Trevor Du Feu

Audio Visual Technician trevor.dufeu@waimea.school.nz

Jeanette Dungan

Special Assessment Conditions (SAC) Coordinator
jeanette.dungan@waimea.school.nz

Richard Dunn

Teacher of Science / BOT Staff Trustee
richard.dunn@waimea.school.nz

Natasha Eggers

Finance Assistant
natasha.eggers@waimea.school.nz

Paul Fenemor

Head Groundsman
paul.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Fenemor

Deputy Principal, Teacher of Business Studies
yvonne.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Catherine Fuller

HOD Languages
catherine.fuller@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Gibbs

Performing Arts Coordinator
tracy.gibbs@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Gibellini

Academic Coordinator, Teacher of Science
nicola.gibellini@waimea.school.nz

Wendy Giles

Special Education Teaching Assistant
wendy.giles@waimea.school.nz

Andrew Gillespie

HOD Materials Technology
andrew.gillespie@waimea.school.nz

Annie Goff

Guidance Administrator
annie.goff@waimea.school.nz

Jo Goodwin

Teacher of Visual Art
jo.goodwin@waimea.school.nz

Simon Goodwin

Guidance Counsellor
simon.goodwin@waimea.school.nz

Damian Granich

Teacher of Special Education damian.granich@waimea.school.nz

Scott Haines

Principal
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Sunshine Hall

Teacher of Materials Technology
sunshine.hall@waimea.school.nz

Esther Hancock

Teacher in Charge Agriculture/Horticulture
esther.hancock@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Hardaker

Teacher of Social Sciences & TIC Psychology
nicola.hardaker@waimea.school.nz

Pep Hart

Staffroom Administrator

Michael Hayes

Special Education Teaching Assistant
michael.hayes@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Henaghan

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Engish, ESOL
rebecca.henaghan@waimea.school.nz

Catherine Henry-Steel

Special Education Teaching Assistant
catherine.henry-Steel@waimea.school.nz

Gordon Holas-Clark

Teacher of Mathematics
gordon.holas-clark@waimea.school.nz

Heather Holmes

Teaching Assistant heather.holmes@waimea.school.nz

Tara Hope

Sports Administrator
tara.hope@waimea.school.nz

Maxine Hylkema

Special Education Teaching Assistant
maxine.hylkema@waimea.school.nz

Jaunita Ingham

Special Education Teaching Assistant
jaunita.ingham@waimea.school.nz

Caroline Inwood

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of English
caroline.inwood@waimea.school.nz

Jo Johnston

Adult & Community (ACE) Manager
jo.johnston@waimea.school.nz

Kat Jones

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
kat.jones@waimea.school.nz

Lena Kelly

Teacher of Mathematics
lena.kelly@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Kennedy

HOD Special Education
sarah.kennedy@waimea.school.nz

Jayne Keys

Guidance Counsellor jayne.keys@waimea.school.nz

Richard Keys

HOD Mathematics
richard.keys@waimea.school.nz

Rachel King

Teacher of Mathematics
rachel.king@waimea.school.nz

Jenny Kneale

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of English
jenny.kneale@waimea.school.nz

Nicki Lawes

Guidance Counsellor
nicki.lawes@waimea.school.nz

Michelle Lawrence

Teacher of Visual Art
michelle.lawrence@waimea.school.nz

Peter Low

Groundsman

Peter Malthus

Teacher of Social Sciences
peter.malthus@waimea.school.nz

Dion Mant

Teacher of Social Sciences dion.mant@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Mather

Teacher of Mathematics
sarah.mather@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Maxwell

Librarian
sarah.maxwell@waimea.school.nz

Jamie McAuley

Teacher of Materials Technology
jamie.mcauley@waimea.school.nz

Dale McDonald

Teacher of Mathematics dale.mcdonald@waimea.school.nz

Trish McGee

Intenational Teaching Assistant
trish.mcgee@waimea.school.nz

Drew McGlashen

HOD Science
drew.mcglashen@waimea.school.nz

Andy McHaffie

HOD Transition & Careers
andy.mchaffie@waimea.school.nz

Stewart McKean

Teacher of Special Education
stewart.mckean@waimea.school.nz

Ian McLeod

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education, Rotoiti Coordinator
ian.mcleod@waimea.school.nz

Kim McNeilly

Office Administrator
kim.mcneilly@waimea.school.nz

Jo Millar

Teacher of English
jo.millar@waimea.school.nz

Stephen Miller

Outdoor Education Assistant
stephen.miller@waimea.school.nz

Stephanie Milner

Teacher of English
stephanie.milner@waimea.school.nz

Donnella Milton

Transition Coordinator
transition@waimea.school.nz

Scott Morrison

Teacher of Mathematics
scott.morrison@waimea.school.nz

Kate Mulvihill

Teacher of Performing Arts
kate.mulvihill@waimea.school.nz

Nathan Neumann

Teacher of Social Sciences
nathan.neumann@waimea.school.nz

Stuart Newby

HOD Guidance
stuart.newby@waimea.school.nz

Janice Oliver

Teaching Assistant
Janice.Oliver@waimea.school.nz

Jane Orbell

Teacher of Social Sciences jane.orbell@waimea.school.nz

Maree O’Rourke

Uniform Shop Manager
maree.orourke@waimea.school.nz

Shaun Oughton

HOD Visual Art
shaun.oughton@waimea.school.nz

Kerry Parkes

Teacher of Materials Technology
kerry.parkes@waimea.school.nz

Gavin Parkinson

Materials Technology Workshop Technician
gavin.parkinson@waimea.school.nz

Kereama (Graham) Payn

Teaching Assistant/Youth Worker OnTrack
graham.payn@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Phillips

Teacher of Business Studies & Mathematics, Rotoiti Coordinator
andrea.phillips@waimea.school.nz

Sue Phipps

Office Manager
sue.phipps@waimea.school.nz

Jesse Pitman-Joass

Special Education Teaching Assistant
jesse.pitman-joass@waimea.school.nz

Judy Powley

Teacher of English
judy.powley@waimea.school.nz

Richard Powley

Caretaker
richard.powley@waimea.school.nz

Chaz Price

ICT Technical Manager chaz.price@waimea.school.nz

Lynda Rea

Attendance Officer
lynda.rea@waimea.school.nz

Colin Redpath

HOD Social Sciences
colin.redpath@waimea.school.nz

Leanda Richards

Teaching Assistant
leanda.richards@waimea.school.nz

Warren Richards

Teacher of Visual Art
warren.richards@waimea.school.nz

Paula Roberts

Teacher of Special Education
paula.roberts@waimea.school.nz

Bevan Rogers

Teacher of Science
bevan.rogers@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Roper

International Manager
hayley.roper@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Rouse-Groome

Teacher of Special Education
rebecca.rouse@waimea.school.nz

Karla Russ

Teacher of Science
karla.russ@waimea.school.nz

Nicholas Sharpe

HOD Performing Arts, Teacher in Charge of Music
nicholas.sharpe@waimea.school.nz

Gus Shirley

Associate Deputy Principal , Teacher of Health & Physical Education
gus.shirley@waimea.school.nz

Pam Shone

HOD Food Technology
pam.shone@waimea.school.nz

Matt Simpson

Materials Technology Workshop Technician
matt.simpson@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Simpson

Teacher of English, Specialist Classroom Teacher
tracy.simpson@waimea.school.nz

Erin Smaill

Teacher of Science
erin.smaill@waimea.school.nz

Brett Smith

Teacher of Music
brett.smith@waimea.school.nz

Emily Smith

Teacher of Social Sciences
emily.smith@waimea.school.nz

Gerda Smith

Teacher of Social Sciences & English
gerda.smith@waimea.school.nz

Graeme Smith

Associate Principal
graeme.smith@waimea.school.nz

Susan Standish

Science Technician
susan.standish@waimea.school.nz

Angela Stark

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
angela.stark@waimea.school.nz

Anna Stevens

Teacher of English
anna.stevens@waimea.school.nz

Melanie Stewart

Gateway Teacher
melanie.stewart@waimea.school.nz

Rae Strasser

Teacher of Social Sciences
rae.strasser@waimea.school.nz

Morgan Stuart

Teacher of Te Rēo & Science
morgan.stuart@waimea.school.nz

Marcus Swain

HOD Health Education
marcus.swain@waimea.school.nz

James Tait

Teacher of Food Technologyg, Social Sciences
james.tait@waimea.school.nz

Will Taylor

Teacher of Materials Technology
will.taylor@waimea.school.nz

Hannah Taylor-Wardle

Teacher of English
hannah.taylorwardle@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Thomas

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Science
andrea.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Mandy Thomas

Attendance Officer / Finance Assistant
mandy.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Karla Thurlow

Head of Sports & Recreation
karla.thurlow@waimea.school.nz

Nola Timpson

Special Education Teaching Assistant
nola.timpson@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Tjostheim

Teacher of Mathematics
tracy.tjostheim@waimea.school.nz

Sue Toepfer

Teaching Assistant
sue.toepfer@waimea.school.nz

Rob Tregurtha

Teacher of Languages
rob.tregurtha@waimea.school.nz

Barbara Tuhou

Finance Assistant
barbara.tuhou@waimea.school.nz

Maria Van Den Berg

Teacher of Science
maria.vandenberg@waimea.school.nz

Katie van der Velden

Teacher of Science
katie.vandervelden@waimea.school.nz

Matthew van Oudenaaren

Year 11 Dean, Academic Coordinator, Teacher of Mathematics
matthew.vanoudenaaren@waimea.school.nz

Monique van Tiggele

Teacher of English, Principal’s Nominee
monique.vantiggele@waimea.school.nz

Michelle van Zoelen

Special Education Teaching Assistant
michelle.vanzoelen@waimea.school.nz

Peter Versey

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
peter.versey@waimea.school.nz

Lydia Visser

Teacher of English
lydia.visser@waimea.school.nz

Roger Waddell

Teacher of Science
roger.waddell@waimea.school.nz

Christine Walker

Teacher of Business Studies, Food Technology
christine.walker@waimea.school.nz

Jessie Watts

Teacher of Mathematics
jessie.watts@waimea.school.nz

Hamish Wheeler

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
hamish.wheeler@waimea.school.nz

Julianne Wheeler

Assistant International Manager
intl.homestay@waimea.school.nz

Angela Whitlam

Teacher of Science, GATE Coordinator
angela.whitlam@waimea.school.nz

Jan Wilson

Teacher of Mathematics
jan.wilson@waimea.school.nz

Susan Win

Teacher of Food Technology, Social Sciences
susan.win@waimea.school.nz

Tim Wright

Teacher of Social Sciences, Boys Achievement Coordinator
tim.wright@waimea.school.nz