Teacher working with student

Our Staff

About our staff

Our staff are our school’s most valuable resource. It is the quality of our staff and the high expectations that we place upon ourselves that are the most important strengths in ensuring high quality teaching and learning takes place.

At Waimea College we have dedicated, well-qualified and trained staff who operate as a team and have:

  • a genuine sense of caring and empathy for young people
  • high expectations of ourselves and our students
  • the skills to enable students to achieve to the best of their abilities
  • a passion for their curriculum area
  • the ability to foster a love of learning in our students
  • a strong sense of community
  • diverse skills, knowledge, and life-experiences
  • a commitment to developing a strong set of values in our students
Student working collaboratively in classroom

Scott Haines

Principal
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Graeme Smith

Associate Principal graeme.smith@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Fenemor

Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Business Studies yvonne.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Llywelyn Adlam

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Science llywelyn.adlam@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crump

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Science Fiona.Crump@waimea.school.nz

Gus Shirley

Associate Deputy Principal ,
Teacher of Health & Physical Education gus.shirley@waimea.school.nz

Diane Chapman

Resource Manager diane.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Cruise

Executive Assistant nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Tim Close

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of English, PB4L Strive Coordinator tim.close@waimea.school.nz

Maree Smith

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Mathematics maree.smith@waimea.school.nz

Caroline Inwood

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of English caroline.inwood@waimea.school.nz

Ian McLeod

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education, Rotoiti Coordinator Ian.McLeod@waimea.school.nz

Kat Jones

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education kat.jones@waimea.school.nz

Matthew van Oudenaaren

Year 11 Dean, Academic Coordinator, Teacher of Mathematics Matthew.vanOudenaaren@waimea.school.nz

Jenny Kneale

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of English jenny.kneale@waimea.school.nz

Peter Versey

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
peter.versey@waimea.school.nz

Andy McHaffie

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of English & Media Studies
andy.mchaffie@waimea.school.nz

Jan Wilson

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of Mathematics jan.wilson@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Roper

International Manager
hayley.roper@waimea.school.nz

Llywelyn Adlam

Associate Deputy Principal, Teacher of Science
llywelyn.adlam@waimea.school.nz

Katie Alder

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
katie.alder@waimea.school.nz

Tina Aynsley

Library Assistant
tina.aynsley@waimea.school.nz

Cath Barker

Teaching Assistant/Youth Worker OnTrack
cath.barker@waimea.school.nz

Pam Bayard

Teaching Assistant
pam.bayard@waimea.school.nz

Maria Van Den Berg

Teacher of Science
maria.vandenberg@waimea.school.nz

Jane Binskin

Teaching Assistant
jane.binskin@waimea.school.nz

Matt Black

Special Education Teaching Assistant
matt.black@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Bolderson

Receptionist / Office Administrator
lisa.bolderson@waimea.school.nz

Siobhian Bolt

Teacher of English
siobhian.bolt@waimea.school.nz

Joanna Booth

Teaching Assistant
joanna.booth@waimea.school.nz

Janice Bridge

HOD OnTrack
janice.bridge@waimea.school.nz

Mike Brien

Teacher of Materials Technology
mike.brien@waimea.school.nz

Alison Browning

Specific Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO)
alison.browning@waimea.school.nz

Jeremy Campbell

Teacher of Outdoor Education
jeremy.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Paula Campbell

Teacher of Social Sciences, Ako
paula.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Kent Champion

Network Administrator
kent.champion@waimea.school.nz

Diane Chapman

Resource Manager
diane.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Naomi Chapman

Librarian Manager & Teacher of Business Studies
naomi.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Nathan Chippendale

HOD Physical Education
nathan.chippendale@waimea.school.nz

Gordon Holas-Clark

Teacher of Mathematics
gordon.holas-clark@waimea.school.nz

Tim Close

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of English, PB4L Strive Coordinator
tim.close@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Collins

Special Education Teaching Assistant
hayley.collins@waimea.school.nz

Kylie Connell

Careers & Gateway / Trades Coordinator
kylie.connell@waimea.school.nz

Jill Cooper

HOD English
jill.cooper@waimea.school.nz

Steve Copley

ICT Director / Digital Learning Coordinator & Teacher of Digital Technology
steve.copley@waimea.school.nz

April Craighead

Teacher of Mathematics
april.craighead@waimea.school.nz

Toni Crichton

Special Education Teaching Assistant
toni.crichton@waimea.school.nz

Leanne Cross

Teacher of Business Studies
leanne.cross@waimea.school.nz

Dan Crossley

HOD Transition & Careers
dan.crossley@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crowley

Teacher of English, Classical Studies fiona.crowley@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crump

Associate Deputy Principal, Teacher of Science fiona.crump@waimea.school.nz

Trent Dallimore

Teacher of Mathematics and in Learning Centre
trent.dallimore@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Daly

HOD Business Studies
yvonne.daly@waimea.school.nz

Sophie Dixon

Science Technician
sophie.dixon@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Drummond

Special Education Teaching Assistant
lisa.drummond@waimea.school.nz

Sue Drummond

Teacher of Special Education
sue.drummond@waimea.school.nz

Jeanette Dungan

Special Assessment Conditions (SAC) Coordinator
jeanette.dungan@waimea.school.nz

Richard Dunn

Teacher of Science / BOT Staff Trustee
richard.dunn@waimea.school.nz

Gina Edens

Teacher of Languages gina.edens@waimea.school.nz

Natasha Eggers

Finance Assistant
natasha.eggers@waimea.school.nz

Tony Etchells

Teacher of Special Education
tony.etchells@waimea.school.nz

Pauline Farley

Performing Arts Coordinator
pauline.farley@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Fenemor

Deputy Principal, Teacher of Business Studies
yvonne.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Paul Fenemor

Head Groundsman
paul.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Trevor Du Feu

Audio Visual Technician trevor.dufeu@waimea.school.nz

Catherine Fuller

HOD Languages
catherine.fuller@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Gibbs

Learning Centre Teaching Assistant
tracy.gibbs@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Gibellini

Year Academic Coordinator, Teacher of Science
nicola.gibellini@waimea.school.nz

Wendy Giles

Special Education Teaching Assistant
wendy.giles@waimea.school.nz

Shauhrat Gill

Teacher of Science
shauhrat.gill@waimea.school.nz

Andrew Gillespie

HOD Materials Technology
andrew.gillespie@waimea.school.nz

Annie Goff

Guidance Administrator
annie.goff@waimea.school.nz

Jo Goodwin

Teacher of Visual Art
jo.goodwin@waimea.school.nz

Simon Goodwin

Guidance Counsellor
simon.goodwin@waimea.school.nz

Damian Granich

Teacher of Special Education damian.granich@waimea.school.nz

Scott Haines

Principal
paula.dempsey@waimea.school.nz

Sunshine Hall

Teacher of Materials Technology
sunshine.hall@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Hardaker

Teacher of Social Sciences & TIC Psychology
nicola.hardaker@waimea.school.nz

Pep Hart

Staffroom Administrator

Rowena Hart

Cultural Capability Coordinator, Teacher of Languages
rowena.hart@waimea.school.nz

Michael Hayes

Special Education Teaching Assistant
michael.hayes@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Henaghan

Teacher of Engish, ESOL
rebecca.henaghan@waimea.school.nz

Heather Holmes

Teaching Assistant heather.holmes@waimea.school.nz

Kelly Hooker

Teacher of Visual Art
kelly.hooker@waimea.school.nz

Tara Hope

Sports Administrator
tara.hope@waimea.school.nz

Maxine Hylkema

Special Education Teaching Assistant
maxine.hylkema@waimea.school.nz

Jaunita Ingham

Special Education Teaching Assistant
jaunita.ingham@waimea.school.nz

Caroline Inwood

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of English
caroline.inwood@waimea.school.nz

Meagan Jeffrey

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
meagan.jeffrey@waimea.school.nz

Jo Johnston

Adult & Community (ACE) Manager
jo.johnston@waimea.school.nz

Kat Jones

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
kat.jones@waimea.school.nz

Delyth Jones

Librarian
delyth.jones@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Kennedy

HOD Special Education
sarah.kennedy@waimea.school.nz

Jayne Keys

Guidance Counsellor jayne.keys@waimea.school.nz

Richard Keys

HOD Mathematics
richard.keys@waimea.school.nz

Rachel King

Teacher of Mathematics
rachel.king@waimea.school.nz

Mandy Kirkham

Transition Coordinator
mandy.kirkham@waimea.school.nz

Jenny Kneale

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of English
jenny.kneale@waimea.school.nz

Nicki Lawes

Guidance Counsellor
nicki.lawes@waimea.school.nz

Peter Low

Groundsman

Peter Malthus

Teacher of Social Sciences
peter.malthus@waimea.school.nz

Dion Mant

Teacher of Social Sciences dion.mant@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Mather

Teacher of Mathematics
sarah.mather@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Maxwell

Librarian
sarah.maxwell@waimea.school.nz

Jamie McAuley

Teacher of Materials Technology
jamie.mcauley@waimea.school.nz

Dale McDonald

Teacher of Mathematics dale.mcdonald@waimea.school.nz

Hillary McDonald

HOD Outdoor Education
hillary.mcdonald@waimea.school.nz

Trish McGee

Intenational Teaching Assistant
trish.mcgee@waimea.school.nz

Drew McGlashen

HOD Science
drew.mcglashen@waimea.school.nz

Andy McHaffie

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of English & Media Studies
andy.mchaffie@waimea.school.nz

Stewart McKean

Teacher of Special Education
stewart.mckean@waimea.school.nz

Ian McLeod

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education, Rotoiti Coordinator
ian.mcleod@waimea.school.nz

Kim McNeilly

Office Administrator
kim.mcneilly@waimea.school.nz

Jo Millar

Teacher of Visual Art
jo.millar@waimea.school.nz

Stephen Miller

Outdoor Education Assistant
stephen.miller@waimea.school.nz

Stephanie Milner

Teacher of English
stephanie.milner@waimea.school.nz

Kate Mulvihill

Teacher of Performing Arts
kate.mulvihill@waimea.school.nz

Kevin Murphy

Teacher of Mathematics
kevin.murphy@waimea.school.nz

Sophie Neill

Teacher of Visual Art
sophie.neill@waimea.school.nz

Caren Nessen

Special Education Teaching Assistant
caren.nessen@waimea.school.nz

Nathan Neumann

Teacher of Social Sciences
nathan.neumann@waimea.school.nz

Stuart Newby

HOD Guidance
stuart.newby@waimea.school.nz

Janice Oliver

Teaching Assistant
Janice.Oliver@waimea.school.nz

Jane Orbell

Teacher of Social Sciences jane.orbell@waimea.school.nz

Matthew van Oudenaaren

Year 11 Dean, Academic Coordinator, Teacher of Mathematics
matthew.vanoudenaaren@waimea.school.nz

Shaun Oughton

HOD Visual Art
shaun.oughton@waimea.school.nz

Kerry Parkes

Teacher of Materials Technology
kerry.parkes@waimea.school.nz

Kereama (Graham) Payn

Teaching Assistant/Youth Worker OnTrack
graham.payn@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Phillips

Teacher of Business Studies & Mathematics, Rotoiti Coordinator
andrea.phillips@waimea.school.nz

Sue Phipps

Office Administrator
sue.phipps@waimea.school.nz

Judy Powley

Teacher of English
judy.powley@waimea.school.nz

Richard Powley

Caretaker
richard.powley@waimea.school.nz

Chaz Price

ICT Technical Manager chaz.price@waimea.school.nz

Jackson Pugh

Special Education Teaching Assistant
jackson.pugh@waimea.school.nz

Allan Rankin

Teacher of Science
allan.rankin@waimea.school.nz

Lynda Rea

Attendance Officer
lynda.rea@waimea.school.nz

Colin Redpath

HOD Social Sciences
colin.redpath@waimea.school.nz

Leanda Richards

Teaching Assistant
leanda.richards@waimea.school.nz

Warren Richards

Teacher of Visual Art
warren.richards@waimea.school.nz

Darren Richardson

Teacher of Materials Technology
darren.richardson@waimea.school.nz

Paula Roberts

Teacher of Special Education
paula.roberts@waimea.school.nz

Bevan Rogers

Teacher of Science
bevan.rogers@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Roper

International Manager
hayley.roper@waimea.school.nz

Maree O’Rourke

Uniform Shop Manager
maree.orourke@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Rouse

Teacher of Special Education
rebecca.rouse@waimea.school.nz

Nicholas Sharpe

Teacher of Music, Year 13 Academic Coordinator
nicholas.sharpe@waimea.school.nz

Danielle Barton-Sherriff

Receptionist / Office Administrator
danielle.barton@waimea.school.nz

Gus Shirley

Associate Deputy Principal , Teacher of Health & Physical Education
gus.shirley@waimea.school.nz

Pam Shone

HOD Food Technology
pam.shone@waimea.school.nz

Matt Simpson

Materials Technology Workshop Technican
matt.simpson@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Simpson

Teacher of English, Specialist Classroom Teacher
tracy.simpson@waimea.school.nz

Erin Smaill

Teacher of Science
erin.smaill@waimea.school.nz

Graeme Smith

Associate Principal
graeme.smith@waimea.school.nz

Maree Smith

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Mathematics
maree.smith@waimea.school.nz

Brett Smith

Teacher of Music
brett.smith@waimea.school.nz

Emily Smith

Teacher of Social Sciences
emily.smith@waimea.school.nz

Susan Standish

Science Technician
susan.standish@waimea.school.nz

Catherine Henry-Steel

Special Education Teaching Assistant
catherine.henry-Steel@waimea.school.nz

Anna Stevens

Teacher of English anna.stevens@waimea.school.nz

Melanie Stewart

HOD Performing Arts & Music
melanie.stewart@waimea.school.nz

Rae Strasser

Teacher of Social Sciences
rae.strasser@waimea.school.nz

Marcus Swain

HOD Health Education
marcus.swain@waimea.school.nz

Ayesha Tahir

Teacher of Science
ayesha.tahir@waimea.school.nz

James Tait

Teacher of Food Technologyg, Social Sciences
james.tait@waimea.school.nz

Will Taylor

Teacher of Materials Technology
will.taylor@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Thomas

Teacher of Science
andrea.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Mandy Thomas

Attendance Officer / Finance Assistant
mandy.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Angela Thomsen

Teacher of Performing Arts
angela.thomsen@waimea.school.nz

Karla Thurlow

Head of Sports & Recreation
karla.thurlow@waimea.school.nz

Monique van Tiggele

Teacher of English, Principal’s Nominee
monique.vantiggele@waimea.school.nz

Nola Timpson

Special Education Teaching Assistant
nola.timpson@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Tjostheim

Teacher of Mathematics
tracy.tjostheim@waimea.school.nz

Sue Toepfer

Teaching Assistant
sue.toepfer@waimea.school.nz

Rob Tregurtha

Teacher of Languages
rob.tregurtha@waimea.school.nz

Barbara Tuhou

Finance Assistant
barbara.tuhou@waimea.school.nz

Peter Versey

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
peter.versey@waimea.school.nz

Lydia Visser

Teacher of English
lydia.visser@waimea.school.nz

Roger Waddell

Teacher of Science
roger.waddell@waimea.school.nz

Christine Walker

Teacher of Business Studies, Food Technology
christine.walker@waimea.school.nz

Hannah Taylor-Wardle

Teacher of English
hannah.taylorwardle@waimea.school.nz

Sue Ware

Materials Technology Workshop Technican
sue.ware@waimea.school.nz

Jessie Watts

Teacher of Mathematics
jessie.watts@waimea.school.nz

Hamish Wheeler

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
hamish.wheeler@waimea.school.nz

Angela Whitlam

Teacher of Science, GATE Coordinator
angela.whitlam@waimea.school.nz

Jan Wilson

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of Mathematics
jan.wilson@waimea.school.nz

Susan Win

Teacher of Food Technology, Social Sciences
susan.win@waimea.school.nz

Megan Wright

Intenational Homestay Coordinator
megan.wright@waimea.school.nz

Tim Wright

Teacher of Social Sciences, Boys Achievement Coordinator
tim.wright@waimea.school.nz

Michelle van Zoelen

Special Education Teaching Assistant
michelle.vanzoelen@waimea.school.nz