Teacher working with student

Our Staff

About our staff

Our staff are our school’s most valuable resource. It is the quality of our staff and the high expectations that we place upon ourselves that are the most important strengths in ensuring high quality teaching and learning takes place.

At Waimea College we have dedicated, well-qualified and trained staff who operate as a team and have:

  • a genuine sense of caring and empathy for young people
  • high expectations of ourselves and our students
  • the skills to enable students to achieve to the best of their abilities
  • a passion for their curriculum area
  • the ability to foster a love of learning in our students
  • a strong sense of community
  • diverse skills, knowledge, and life-experiences
  • a commitment to developing a strong set of values in our students
Student working collaboratively in classroom

Scott Haines

Principal
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Natasha Hitchman

Associate Principal natasha.hitchman@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Fenemor

Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Business Studies yvonne.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Brian Hore

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Science brian.hore@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crump

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Science fiona.crump@waimea.school.nz

Gus Shirley

Associate Deputy Principal,
Teacher of Health & Physical Education gus.shirley@waimea.school.nz

Diane Chapman

Resource Manager diane.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Cruise

Executive Assistant nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Jenny Kneale

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of English jenny.kneale@waimea.school.nz

Peter Versey

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
peter.versey@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Henaghan

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of English, ESOL
rebecca.henaghan@waimea.school.nz

LLywelyn Adlam

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Science
llywelyn.adlam@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Thomas

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Science andrea.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Tim Close

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of English, PB4L Strive Coordinator tim.close@waimea.school.nz

Caroline Inwood

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of English caroline.inwood@waimea.school.nz

Ian McLeod

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education ian.mcleod@waimea.school.nz

Kat Jones

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education kat.jones@waimea.school.nz

Matthew van Oudenaaren

Year 13 Dean, Academic Coordinator, Teacher of Mathematics matthew.vanoudenaaren@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Roper

International Dean
hayley.roper@waimea.school.nz

Llywelyn Adlam

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Science
llywelyn.adlam@waimea.school.nz

Katie Alder

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
katie.alder@waimea.school.nz

Karma Argyle

Teaching Assistant
karma.argyle@waimea.school.nz

Tina Aynsley

Library Assistant
tina.aynsley@waimea.school.nz

Cath Barker

Teaching Assistant/Youth Worker OnTrack
cath.barker@waimea.school.nz

Pam Bayard

Teaching Assistant
pam.bayard@waimea.school.nz

Jane Binskin

Teaching Assistant
jane.binskin@waimea.school.nz

Matt Black

Special Education Teaching Assistant
matt.black@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Bolderson

Student Administrator
lisa.bolderson@waimea.school.nz

Siobhian Bolt

Teacher of English
siobhian.bolt@waimea.school.nz

Joanna Booth

Teaching Assistant
joanna.booth@waimea.school.nz

Janice Bridge

HOD OnTrack
janice.bridge@waimea.school.nz

Mike Brien

Teacher of Materials Technology
mike.brien@waimea.school.nz

Alison Browning

Specific Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO)
alison.browning@waimea.school.nz

Ingrid Buedenbender

ESOL Teaching Assistant
ingrid.buedenbender@waimea.school.nz

Damian Campbell

Teacher of Mathematics
damian.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Diane Chapman

Resource Manager
diane.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Jeremy Campbell

Teacher of Outdoor Education
jeremy.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Paula Campbell

Teacher of Social Sciences, Ako
paula.campbell@waimea.school.nz

Erin Chapman

Teacher of Outdoor Education & Physical Education
erin.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Naomi Chapman

Librarian Manager & Teacher of Business Studies
naomi.chapman@waimea.school.nz

Nathan Chippendale

HOD Physical Education
nathan.chippendale@waimea.school.nz

Tim Close

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of English,
PB4L Strive Coordinator
tim.close@waimea.school.nz

Jenna Collett

Receptionist
jenna.collett@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Collins

Special Education Teaching Assistant
hayley.collins@waimea.school.nz

Kylie Connell

Careers & Gateway / Trades Coordinator
kylie.connell@waimea.school.nz

Jill Cooper

HOD English
jill.cooper@waimea.school.nz

Steve Copley

ICT Director / Digital Learning Coordinator & Teacher of Digital Technology
steve.copley@waimea.school.nz

Toni Crichton

Special Education Teaching Assistant
toni.crichton@waimea.school.nz

Leanne Cross

Teacher of Business Studies
leanne.cross@waimea.school.nz

Fiona Crowley

Teacher of English, Classical Studies fiona.crowley@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Cruise

Executive Assistant
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz
 

Fiona Crump

Associate Deputy Principal, Teacher of Science fiona.crump@waimea.school.nz

Trent Dallimore

Teacher of Mathematics and in Learning Centre
trent.dallimore@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Daly

HOD Business Studies
yvonne.daly@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Drummond

Special Education Teaching Assistant
lisa.drummond@waimea.school.nz

Sue Drummond

Teacher of Special Education
sue.drummond@waimea.school.nz

Trevor Du Feu

Audio Visual Technician trevor.dufeu@waimea.school.nz

Isaiah Duncanson

Teacher of Science isaiah.duncanson@waimea.school.nz

Jeanette Dungan

Special Assessment Conditions (SAC) Coordinator
jeanette.dungan@waimea.school.nz

Richard Dunn

Teacher of Science / BOT Staff Trustee
richard.dunn@waimea.school.nz

Natasha Eggers

Finance Assistant
natasha.eggers@waimea.school.nz

Yvonne Fenemor

Deputy Principal, Teacher of Business Studies
yvonne.fenemor@waimea.school.nz

Jodie Freeman

Teacher of Music
jodie.freeman@waimea.school.nz

Catherine Fuller

HOD Languages
catherine.fuller@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Gibbs

Performing Arts Coordinator
tracy.gibbs@waimea.school.nz

Wendy Giles

Special Education Teaching Assistant
wendy.giles@waimea.school.nz

Andrew Gillespie

HOD Materials Technology
andrew.gillespie@waimea.school.nz

Annie Goff

Guidance Administrator
annie.goff@waimea.school.nz

Jo Goodwin

Teacher of Visual Art
jo.goodwin@waimea.school.nz

Simon Goodwin

Guidance Counsellor
simon.goodwin@waimea.school.nz

Damian Granich

Teacher of Special Education damian.granich@waimea.school.nz

Scott Haines

Principal
nicola.cruise@waimea.school.nz

Sunshine Hall

Teacher of Materials Technology
sunshine.hall@waimea.school.nz

Esther Hancock

Teacher in Charge Agriculture/Horticulture
esther.hancock@waimea.school.nz

Nicola Hardaker

Teacher of Social Sciences & TIC Psychology
nicola.hardaker@waimea.school.nz

Pep Hart

Staffroom Administrator

Sarah Haydon

Learning Centre Teacher Assistant sarah.haydon@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Henaghan

Year 10 Dean, Teacher of Engish, ESOL
rebecca.henaghan@waimea.school.nz

Catherine Henry-Steel

Special Education Teaching Assistant
catherine.henry-Steel@waimea.school.nz

Natasha Hitchman

Associate Principal
natasha.hitchman@waimea.school.nz

Gordon Holas-Clark

Teacher of Mathematics
gordon.holas-clark@waimea.school.nz

Heather Holmes

Teaching Assistant heather.holmes@waimea.school.nz

Brian Hore

Associate Deputy Principal
brian.hore@waimea.school.nz

Tara Hope

Sports Administrator
tara.hope@waimea.school.nz

Maxine Hylkema

Special Education Teaching Assistant
maxine.hylkema@waimea.school.nz

Jaunita Ingham

Special Education Teaching Assistant
jaunita.ingham@waimea.school.nz

Caroline Inwood

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of English
caroline.inwood@waimea.school.nz

Jo Johnston

Adult & Community (ACE) Manager
jo.johnston@waimea.school.nz

Delyth Jones

Librarian
delyth.jones@waimea.school.nz

Kat Jones

Year 13 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
Cultural Coordinator
kat.jones@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Kennedy

HOD Special Education
sarah.kennedy@waimea.school.nz

Jayne Keys

Guidance Counsellor
jayne.keys@waimea.school.nz

Richard Keys

HOD Mathematics
richard.keys@waimea.school.nz

Rachel King

Teacher of Mathematics
rachel.king@waimea.school.nz

Jenny Kneale

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of English
jenny.kneale@waimea.school.nz

Peter Low

Groundsman

Katrina Madill

HOD Transition & Careers
katrina.madill@waimea.school.nz

Peter Malthus

Teacher of Social Sciences
peter.malthus@waimea.school.nz

Dion Mant

Teacher of Social Sciences dion.mant@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Mather

Teacher of Mathematics
sarah.mather@waimea.school.nz

Sarah Maxwell

Librarian
sarah.maxwell@waimea.school.nz

Jamie McAuley

Teacher of Materials Technology, 
GATE Coordinator
jamie.mcauley@waimea.school.nz

Dale McDonald

Teacher of Mathematics dale.mcdonald@waimea.school.nz

Hillary McDonald

HOD Outdoor Education hillary.mcdonald@waimea.school.nz

Trish McGee

Intenational Teaching Assistant
trish.mcgee@waimea.school.nz

Drew McGlashen

HOD Science
drew.mcglashen@waimea.school.nz

Andy McHaffie

Teacher of English & Media Studies
andy.mchaffie@waimea.school.nz

Stewart McKean

Teacher of Special Education
stewart.mckean@waimea.school.nz

Ian McLeod

Year 12 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education, Academic Coordinator
ian.mcleod@waimea.school.nz

Kim McNeilly

Office Administrator
kim.mcneilly@waimea.school.nz

Jo Millar

Teacher of English
jo.millar@waimea.school.nz

Stephanie Milner

Teacher of English
stephanie.milner@waimea.school.nz

Donnella Milton

Transition Coordinator
transition@waimea.school.nz

Scott Morrison

Teacher of Mathematics
scott.morrison@waimea.school.nz

Hamish Morton

Teacher of Science
hamish.morton@waimea.school.nz

Kate Mulvihill

Teacher of Performing Arts
kate.mulvihill@waimea.school.nz

Nathan Neumann

Teacher of Social Sciences
nathan.neumann@waimea.school.nz

Stuart Newby

HOD Guidance
stuart.newby@waimea.school.nz

Brad Norris

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
brad.norris@waimea.school.nz

Michael O’Malley

Teacher of Drama
Michael O’Malley Michael.O’Malley@waimea.school.nz

Jane Orbell

Teacher of Social Sciences jane.orbell@waimea.school.nz

Maree O’Rourke

Uniform Shop Manager
maree.orourke@waimea.school.nz

Shaun Oughton

HOD Visual Art
shaun.oughton@waimea.school.nz

Kerry Parkes

Teacher of Materials Technology
kerry.parkes@waimea.school.nz

Gavin Parkinson

Materials Technology Workshop Technician
gavin.parkinson@waimea.school.nz

Kereama (Graham) Payn

Teaching Assistant/Youth Worker OnTrack
graham.payn@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Phillips

Teacher of Business Studies & Mathematics,
Rotoiti Lodge Liaison Teacher
andrea.phillips@waimea.school.nz

Sue Phipps

Office Manager
sue.phipps@waimea.school.nz

Jesse Pitman-Joass

Special Education Teaching Assistant
jesse.pitman-joass@waimea.school.nz

Judy Powley

Teacher of English
judy.powley@waimea.school.nz

Richard Powley

Caretaker
richard.powley@waimea.school.nz

Lynda Rea

Attendance Officer
lynda.rea@waimea.school.nz

Colin Redpath

HOD Social Sciences
colin.redpath@waimea.school.nz

Leanda Richards

Teaching Assistant
leanda.richards@waimea.school.nz

Warren Richards

Teacher of Visual Art
warren.richards@waimea.school.nz

Darren Richardson

Teacher of Materials Technology
darren.richardson@waimea.school.nz

Amy Roach

Teacher of English
amy.roach@waimea.school.nz

Bevan Rogers

Teacher of Science
bevan.rogers@waimea.school.nz

Hayley Roper

International Manager
hayley.roper@waimea.school.nz

Rebecca Rouse-Groome

Teacher of Special Education
rebecca.rouse@waimea.school.nz

Karla Russ

Teacher of Science
karla.russ@waimea.school.nz

Lisa Rutledge

Science Technician
lisa.rutledge@waimea.school.nz

Nicholas Sharpe

HOD Performing Arts, Teacher in Charge of Music
nicholas.sharpe@waimea.school.nz

Gus Shirley

Associate Deputy Principal , Teacher of Health & Physical Education
gus.shirley@waimea.school.nz

Pam Shone

HOD Food Technology
pam.shone@waimea.school.nz

Matt Simpson

Materials Technology Workshop Technician
matt.simpson@waimea.school.nz

Erin Smaill

Teacher of Science
erin.smaill@waimea.school.nz

Brett Smith

Teacher of Music
brett.smith@waimea.school.nz

Emily Smith

Teacher of Social Sciences
emily.smith@waimea.school.nz

Gerda Smith

Teacher of Social Sciences & English
gerda.smith@waimea.school.nz

Susan Standish

Science Technician
susan.standish@waimea.school.nz

Angela Stark

Teacher of Health & Physical Education
angela.stark@waimea.school.nz

Rae Strasser

Teacher of Social Sciences
rae.strasser@waimea.school.nz

Morgan Stuart

Teacher of Te Rēo & Science
morgan.stuart@waimea.school.nz

Marcus Swain

HOD Health Education
marcus.swain@waimea.school.nz

James Tait

Teacher of Food Technologyg, Social Sciences
james.tait@waimea.school.nz

Will Taylor

Teacher of Materials Technology
will.taylor@waimea.school.nz

Hannah Taylor-Wardle

Teacher of English
hannah.taylorwardle@waimea.school.nz

Andrea Thomas

Year 11 Dean, Teacher of Science
andrea.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Mandy Thomas

Attendance Officer / Finance Assistant
mandy.thomas@waimea.school.nz

Karla Thurlow

Head of Sports & Recreation
karla.thurlow@waimea.school.nz

Nola Timpson

Special Education Teaching Assistant
nola.timpson@waimea.school.nz

Tracy Tjostheim

Teacher of Mathematics
tracy.tjostheim@waimea.school.nz

Sue Toepfer

Teaching Assistant
sue.toepfer@waimea.school.nz

Rob Tregurtha

Teacher of Languages
rob.tregurtha@waimea.school.nz

Melissa Tuckett

Teacher of Visual Arts
melissa.tuckett@waimea.school.nz

Barbara Tuhou

Finance Assistant
barbara.tuhou@waimea.school.nz

Maria Van Den Berg

Teacher of Science
maria.vandenberg@waimea.school.nz

Katie van der Velden

Teacher of Science
katie.vandervelden@waimea.school.nz

Matthew van Oudenaaren

Year 13 Dean, Academic Coordinator, Teacher of Mathematics
matthew.vanoudenaaren@waimea.school.nz

Monique van Tiggele

Teacher of English
monique.vantiggele@waimea.school.nz

Michelle van Zoelen

Special Education Teaching Assistant
michelle.vanzoelen@waimea.school.nz

Peter Versey

Year 9 Dean, Teacher of Health & Physical Education
peter.versey@waimea.school.nz

Christine Walker

Teacher of Business Studies, Food Technology
christine.walker@waimea.school.nz

Seane Watkins

Teacher of Visual Art
seane.watkins@waimea.school.nz

Jessie Watts

Teacher of Mathematics
jessie.watts@waimea.school.nz

Hamish Wheeler

Teacher of Health & Physical Education, 
Specialist Classroom Teacher
hamish.wheeler@waimea.school.nz

Julianne Wheeler

Assistant International Manager
international.admin@waimea.school.nz

Angela Whitlam

Teacher of Science, Principal’s Nominee
angela.whitlam@waimea.school.nz

Jan Wilson

Teacher of Mathematics
jan.wilson@waimea.school.nz

Susan Win

Teacher of Food Technology, Social Sciences
susan.win@waimea.school.nz

Tim Wright

Teacher of Social Sciences, Boys Achievement Coordinator
tim.wright@waimea.school.nz

Mel Young

International Homestay Coordinator
intl.homestay@waimea.school.nz