Future Leaders 2024

Growing Future Leaders


We foster and develop the leadership capabilities that many students possess through mentoring and workshops. At every year level you are given opportunities that enable you to reach your leadership potential and develop into a future leader.

Growing Future Leaders Overview_2024

Waimea College is a diverse and vibrant school that provides a supportive and encouraging environment. Our broad curriculum allows every student to pursue their passion and become lifelong learners.” – Zariyah, Year 13

Senior Leadership Opportunities

The Student Leadership Team includes an elected representative to the Board of Trustees, six Head Students and eight House Captains.

A variety of senior leadership positions are available to you including but not limited to:

  • Academic
  • Performing Arts
  • Visual Arts
  • Business
  • Culture
  • Environment
  • International Student Support
  • Community
  • Diversity
  • Events
  • Student Ambassadors
  • Special Education Captains

Our senior student leaders have a significant part to play in leading school assemblies, representing the College in the community and as role models to the wider school.

Junior Leadership Opportunities

In Year 10 we offer a Junior Leadership programme which encourages students to contribute to the life of the school. 

The years starts with a camp exploring the school values and finishes with an adventure camp in the Abel Tasman. 

There are lots of opportunities during the year that enable the Junior Leaders to connect with and serve the community.  Students are encouraged to join the Student Volunteer Army and are given an opportunity to participate in the Duke of Edinburgh programme. 

So be inspired …

“School leaders collaboratively develop, pursue and enact the school’s vision and targets for equity and excellence. Their well considered strategic approach is consultative and inclusive.”
— ERO Report

Leadership 2023

Board of Trustees Student Representative

Daniel Taplin

Head Students

Zariyah Andrews
Cassie Cameron
Poppy Donald
Eli Gapes
Adam Teece
Lucas Trench

House Captains

Hillary House – Bridie Howard, Nathan Hunt, Charli Mirfin

Sheppard House – Daisy Ellis, Harry Turnhout, Sam Wilson

Cooper House – Gabriel Boote, Grace MacIntyre, Cooper Phipps

Rutherford House – Maddy Armstrong, Lexi Hall, Luc Towler

Academic Captains

Caitlin Alexander
Olivia Cross
Emilian Meissner
Jack Noble
Nathan Quinney
Pyper Smith
Becky Spurgeon

Performing Arts Captains

Jade Briggs
Nick Etchells
Josh Last-Harris
Oscar Perrott
Paige Sumner

Sports Captains

William Blight
Nathan Downey
Josh Scott
Maia Kininmonth
Hannah Robertson

Visual Arts Captains

Finlay Ashcroft
Sian Davies
Loren Martin
Lily-Anne Watts

ICT Captain

James O’Malley

International Peer Support

Tharu Wickrama

International Student Leader

Ayaka Sugihara
Vicky Yuen

Special Ed Captains

James Bolitho
Brooke Bowen
Aleigh Jordan
Amber McConnochie
Luke O’Toole
Emma-Grace Walker

Special Ed Leaders

Tom Cliffe
Kimberly Fox
James Keys
Cerys Phelan
Trinity Tennakoon
Lily Tighe

Media Captain

Tyler Dove

Diversity Captains

Matt Dunn
Lauren Eyre


Culture Captains

Harry Browne
Hine Tūtapu

Environment Committee

Taylor Amer-Mitchell
Jaime Robertson
Ayaka Sugihara

Events Committee

Abigail Brooker
Maia Griffith
Libby Halkett
Seana McBeath
Olivia Olsen
Luke Perry
Jessica York

Technology Captains

Cameron Ashcroft
Lizzie Gower
Ben Hunt
Nathan Hunt
Billie Payne
Juan Welgemoed

Wellbeing Captains

Esther Gould
Aneka McIntyre

New Student Ambassadors

Libby Halkett
Seana McBeath
Lilyrose Phorn
Jessica York